Is there a Kipling Club? Because if there is, I'll join. Kipling backpacks and bags are long-lasting and attractive. They are kitschy and cool enough for teens, hipsters and adults. They are water resistant and durable enough to make them worth their price. Some of them come with a signature monkey keychain in the color of the bag. I love my Kipling products.

It started in New York City in the 1980's. I was looking for a cool looking backpack to complement my punk look as I traveled back and forth through the city. I had been using my old faithful Timberland Eagle forest-green pack from my girl scout days and it was falling apart.

I went into a shop on Bleecker Street in Greenwich Village and saw these really cool backpacks. I saw one in mustard yellow with black rubber detail. It looked sturdy and comfortable. Unknown to me, this would be my first Kipling!

Move the clock ahead 22 years (yikes) and I finally needed a new backpack. Of course I wanted a Kipling. While shopping, I realized my daughters were getting old enough for backpacks that could last more than a year. My one daughter declined but my other said yes and got a pretty khaki color one for school. I got a brown one (listed below) and I got a red medium backpack to use as a big purse.

Funny thing happened this year. My daughter actually needed a bigger pack and she asked me if she could use mine! I now have her khaki one.

I don't think you can go wrong with the gift of a Kipling bag that never goes out of style.

My pride and joy. A honeybee medium backpack in red. I use it for a purse plus.

My pride and joy. A honeybee medium backpack in red. I use it for a purse plus.

You may also like...

Comments

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • tim-bader-982 Jan 14, 2014 @ 4:41 am
    Lol, my wife just bought a backpack like these yesterday (from the competition - sorry!)
    She wanted one with an internal zip pocket to help put off pick-pockets.
  • kimmilai Jan 14, 2014 @ 6:48 am
    I guess brilliant minds think alike, lol! Glad she's getting something she'll love even if it wasn't from me.
  • lisa-v-hunt-7 Jan 07, 2014 @ 3:45 pm
    These are new to me. Thanks for the review.
  • kimmilai Jan 09, 2014 @ 3:27 pm
    You're quite welcome! :)
  • wiseriverman Jan 05, 2014 @ 7:55 pm
    This is an awesome review! I'm taking a second look at this bag. Thanks!
  • kimmilai Jan 06, 2014 @ 2:07 pm
    I'm definitely a fan. Strong, easy to wash. Thank you for stopping by.
  • libertyduckling Jan 02, 2014 @ 10:22 pm
    i need a new bag...this might be it... love it!
  • kimmilai Jan 04, 2014 @ 9:12 am
    Thank you for your comments. If you do get it, let me know what you think about it!
  • SusanM17 Jan 02, 2014 @ 9:59 am
    I really like Kipling, but they're so expensive in my country. Nice review!
  • kimmilai Jan 02, 2014 @ 1:54 pm
    Maybe you can have someone purchase for you when they visit the U.S. Thanks for stopping by. :)
  • RoadMonkey Jan 01, 2014 @ 5:48 pm
    What great looking bags. I have given up carrying a handbag, I use a rucksack for carrying large items and what I think you call a "fanny pack" (we call it a bum bag) if I just want to carry money and keys, etc.Having just had a look on Amazon UK, I see we have Kipling bags too! Must take a closer look.
  • kimmilai Jan 02, 2014 @ 1:58 pm
    Those are all great too. Not that I have to be 'matchy matchy' but I like having a theme for a category of items I've purchased. Kipling may not be for everybody but they definitely are for me.
  • WriterJanis Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:09 am
    I will have my kids look at these.
  • kimmilai Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:27 pm
    Thank you for stopping by WriterJanis, I hope they like them, I know my daughter does!
  • PaigSr Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:22 pm
    This just might work for my daughter.
  • kimmilai Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:44 pm
    I love mine (even though I bought them for myself!).
  • Chip_Westley Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:06 am
    A light backpack like these is all I need for a weekend trip.
  • kimmilai Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:40 pm
    They are great for that. Thank you for commenting.
  • sousababy Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:06 am
    I like the look of that Kipling Defea - the sporty, rugged look is great for wintertime here in Canada.
  • kimmilai Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:45 am
    Thank you for checking out my lens and your thoughts sousababy! :)
  • freedomleader Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:58 pm
    Great idea for my wife.Thank you.
  • kimmilai Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:59 am
    You're welcome! :)
  • Snappysnapper Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:59 pm
    Look some great buys.
  • kimmilai Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:11 am
    I agree. They are so durable too. Thank you for stopping by.
  • ZodiacImmortal Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44 pm
    I've had one since the 90's and I hink I can say it still looks new. They are great oince they get a little grungy just throw in the wash. I think years from now (100 maybe) I think they will be unearthing some of them. I don't think they ever rip or the zipper ever gets messed up. These are the only purse or backpack you will ever need! When I got mine it was $40 I can't believe the cost of them now!
  • kimmilai Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:13 am
    Thank you for writing. They are so extremely durable. I actually still have my mustard yellow one I got in the 80's. I use it for storing stuff now.
  • Merrci Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:04 am
    Makes me think I need a backpack! Great lens. These do look like a good size--very useful!
  • kimmilai Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:27 pm
    Thank you for visiting. I found the medium one just right. If need be, I can stretch it to fit a few notebooks. I can use it like a backpack to keep my hands free. It's sturdy enough I don't feel like it'll rip.
  • bercton Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:57 am
    Great stuff for the Holidays!
  • kimmilai Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:33 am
    Thank you so much!